What is faro, and can I serve it to my gluten intolerant cousin?  

Farro, Caramelized Onion, and Wild Mushroom Stuffing

Photo: Charles Masters

About Our Expert

If you have a cooking question, our expert, Marge Perry, can answer it. Marge teaches home cooks in her classes at the Institute of Culinary Education in New York City. She is an award-winning food writer, longtime contributor for Cooking Light and a number of other leading food magazines, author of the blog A Sweet and Savory Life, columnist for Newsday, and has contributed to over 20 cookbooks.

Send Marge your cooking questions

Like Marge on Facebook

Browse Marge Perry's Recipes

Video Tips from Marge

Farro is an ancient wheat grain with a chewy texture and mellow nuttiness. Because it is a kind of wheat, it should not be served to anyone who has celiac disease or is gluten intolerant.

Contrary to popular belief, farro is not the same thing as spelt. Most of the farro we buy has been pearled or semi-pearled, which makes it faster and easier to cook. Pearled farro cooks in about 20-30 minutes; whole farro takes closer to an hour.

Marge Perry
Nov, 2011
advertisement

Printed from:
http://www.myrecipes.com/how-to/cooking-questions/what-is-faro-00420000012972/

Copyright © 2014 Time Inc. Lifestyle Group. All Rights Reserved. Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (Your California Privacy Rights). Ad Choices