What is faro, and can I serve it to my gluten intolerant cousin?

 

Farro is an ancient wheat grain with a chewy texture and mellow nuttiness. Because it is a kind of wheat, it should not be served to anyone who has celiac disease or is gluten intolerant.

Contrary to popular belief, farro is not the same thing as spelt. Most of the farro we buy has been pearled or semi-pearled, which makes it faster and easier to cook. Pearled farro cooks in about 20-30 minutes; whole farro takes closer to an hour.

Marge Perry

November 2011